What Inspires You?

Author’s Note: Before I move on to the main topic of this post, I’d like to take a minute and apologize.  Apparently being sick and working two jobs makes it difficult for one to stick to their blogging schedule.  I promise to try to be better about it in the future.  Starting now.  🙂

What Inspires You?

My boyfriend and I moved back in November from my dad’s house to a condo he had bought for us.  Just a couple of days ago I was finally getting around to unpacking the last of the boxes (I know, I know. I’m lazy).  This box was full of nick-knacks and desk stuff, pens, erasers, rattlesnake fangs and rattles, various animal skulls, and writable CDs.  Inside of it I found a box full of random collectables that I had gotten my hands on through the years.  Fond of reliving memories, I decided to go digging through it.

The first thing I found hit me with such muse and inspiration that I very nearly dropped everything I was doing to go sit at the computer and write.

It was a gryphon pin.  I can’t remember who gave it to me, or even when I got it, but just holding it and looking at it had caused several stories to unfold in my mind.  Who could this pin have belonged to?  Maybe one of my gryphon-riders, one who’s story came before Keshaar’s?  Maybe it was the badge worn by all the gryphon riders, or a sigil, or part of a banner of Shalarith’s capital, Ktal?

Image

I still don’t know the story behind this little pin, but I know I will be finding out.

The amount of muse that hit me over such a little object got me wondering.  What other things to I have that take me away to a fantasy world?  What else could tickle my muse and feed me inspiration?  So I started digging, and this is what I found.

Image

This was a simple kaleidoscope given to me by one of my aunt’s when I was going through a rough patch in my life.  She had sent it to me with the memo to use it when I needed a change of view.

Instead of just seeing shapes, I used to pretend that I could see into alternate universes with it, or that I could see the future.  What stories I would weave around such a tiny little object.  It fast became one of my most treasured possessions, and still is today.  While I don’t believe I can see into strange worlds, it still finds a way to take me to them, nonetheless.

Image

This is just a paint-it-yourself gryphon figurine that I got from Windstone Editions.  No fantasy lover should be without some of their little critters.  I painted this one in natural colors, to mimic a harris hawk.  It sits on my bookshelf and watches over my collection.

Image

And of course, what fantasy writer could live without one of these?  This little treasure was bought in Toledo, Spain and was supposedly made with genuine Toledo steel.  Not only is it a sword, but it came from a far away country.  I often wonder of the person who wielded it, or who “Alexander” (the name inscribed on the blade) really was.  Was it their king? Or maybe a powerful mage they fought for during a great war?  With a sword, the stories are endless and the battles won.

ImageImage

Maps. One can NEVER have too many maps.  The top one came with my PC copy of Skyrim while the bottom one is of middle earth, and was sent to me by a friend.

These maps not only take me away to far away lands, but they help me get a better feel for the journeys characters must take during their novels.  To see how far they went, and even to wonder of the places they never visited.  We all know Frodo went through Rivendell on his way to Mordor, but what was happening in the Ettenmoors while he dined with the elves?

Image

This watch I found at the mall one day, and instantly had to have it.  Why?  Well, one, because I just think it’s absolutely gorgeous.  But the main reason I had to have it was because it reminded me of Philip Pullman’s Alethiometer.  It doesn’t look like a watch to me.  To me it looks like something that will tell you something nothing else can.  Maybe it tells the truth, maybe it talks to spirits, or guides you to your heart’s desire like Captain Jack’s compass.  All I know is this is no ordinary watch, at least not when the muse comes out to play.

Though, it does make a rather pretty watch, should one choose to see it as such.

Image

So what about you dear readers?  What little (or big) items do you cache around your house that take you away, or whisper stories in your mind?

About lvadams

I grew up in Central Florida for most of my life. I was one of those strange kids who liked to catch lizards and snakes, and brought everything home from stray kittens to baby chickens and ducks. I started writing around the age of 11 and never really stopped. I now have a Bachelor's of Science degree from Auburn University and hope to get a job working with animals. Until then I keep on writing. :)
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

