Stepping outside your Comfort Zone

I’ve always considered myself to be more immersed in the fantasy genre than any other genre. I write fantasy, I read fantasy, I watch fantasy.

Lately, I’ve decided to get outside my comfort zone and practice writing something different.

What did I do?

I decided to run a Call of Cthulhu tabletop RPG (Role-Playing Game).

This would be something new and entirely unfamiliar. The Cthulhu mythos resides within the horror genre, a genre that I generally avoid at all costs. I don’t like to be scared, and I don’t like scary movies. I would have to overcome my own fears in order to run a game.

However, the world of Lovecraft and the utter despair he puts his characters through intrigued me, and I decided I would invest in a few books and start running the game. It even took me less time than I planned, to come up with a story (misadventure). And it was even pretty spooky too. Though I had some help and inspiration from a fellow writer who is more involved in the genre than I.

I like the challenge of this new genre. Of struggling through the different pace and events. So much so that my next book will not be a continuation of my Shalarith series like I planned, but instead will also be something different. A murder mystery/thriller with a pinch of urban fantasy to give me that ‘home’ feeling.

So my questions to you dear readers: do you branch out and try new genres? Do you find different genres easier or harder to write? What are the benefits and disadvantages to temporarily switching your writing to another genre? Have you ever switched and not switched back?

About lvadams

I grew up in Central Florida for most of my life. I was one of those strange kids who liked to catch lizards and snakes, and brought everything home from stray kittens to baby chickens and ducks. I started writing around the age of 11 and never really stopped. I now have a Bachelor's of Science degree from Auburn University and hope to get a job working with animals. Until then I keep on writing. :)
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stepping outside your Comfort Zone

  1. Taken from one of my write ups on a chat program about role playing and the comfort zone.

    Its not uncommon, for people to want to play the same characters, from their favorite book, TV show, film, or manga for a long long time, often becoming very knowledgeable about playing those characters. So much so, that that is all we ever hear.

    But what about trying something totally new? Breaking away from the tried and true, and sinking your teeth in something totally alien. Surely as a writer and role player, that would be a great challenge, to have a go at a different genre and or style? Isn’t that what life is all about? Sampling and working on new projects, to help inspire us to be more creative?

    I know that I played one race of character, for about three years, and while I loved it, I felt that I was getting myself into a bit of a rut, and also, I am pretty sure that my co writers and friends were getting sick to death of me talking about my love for role playing that race. Heh, I bet if I listened carefully, I could hear the audible groans. “God, not that again.”

    But..I did venture out. I went off and tried, what I thought would be…well, boring. Playing humans. Yes, I thought that being well, an ordinary powerless human would be like..watching grass grow. How wrong I was.
    So yes, I did move away from my beloved fantasy character, to explore a new world in role play outside my comfort zone…and you know…I have never looked back

Leave a Reply

