Animal (human) behavior-impatience

I’ve been doing a lot of waiting around recently. A lot.

And I’m a very impatient person. Very impatient.

In my hobby world, I’m waiting to hear back from agents and editors about my MS Gryphon Legend. Out of all the queries I’ve sent, half have come back rejected.

I’m also waiting for more hognose eggs to hatch, as well as waiting on a special hognose I have to get big enough to breed.

In my personal life I’m waiting to interview for a very important job. I’m also waiting for my boyfriend to buy me a ring.

How do I deal with all this waiting?

I pick something and obsess over it. For the past month it’s been wedding planning.

Now it’s enclosure design. I’m putting together a 55gal tank for my Everglades rat snake, with live plants and stuff. I also plan to set up a fish aquarium with an axolotl in it.

This is at least productive. Planning a wedding almost 2 years before the date and before being officially engaged is not productive and served to be more frustrating than anything else.

I wish I could turn all this energy into something even more useful, like directing it towards writing my new book (of which, by the way, I have written two words. đŸ™‚ “Chapter One” Haha).

If I could find a way to sit down and actually write, I’m sure I could crank out 5k words a day (more or less). But instead I feel like I lack the focus for writing.

It doesn’t help that I’ve been suffering from a bout of depression lately. One of my two part time jobs is no longer a good fit for my life, but I am not yet in the position to quit.

How do you fight the drag when your mood is down? How do you fight the hyperfocus and get writing?

Do you tend to throw yourself into an activity when you find yourself just waiting for the days to pass? Do you try to ignore the things you’re waiting on, so the days go by quicker

How do you battle impatience and write when you want to do anything but write?

About lvadams

I grew up in Central Florida for most of my life. I was one of those strange kids who liked to catch lizards and snakes, and brought everything home from stray kittens to baby chickens and ducks. I started writing around the age of 11 and never really stopped. I now have a Bachelor's of Science degree from Auburn University and hope to get a job working with animals. Until then I keep on writing. :)
This entry was posted in Animal-Behavior, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

