Gearing up for NaNoWriMo! What about you?

So, now that my falconry exam is over (pretty sure I passed too!) it’s time to get ready for NaNo.  I’ve been busy using their awesome book, “Ready Set Novel” to prepare for writing my masterpiece this year.  🙂  Well, maybe not masterpiece, but still, this book is a fantastic tool for the writer who already has a plan, and for the writer who doesn’t.  So far it has helped me flesh out more characters (like, actual supporting characters) instead of just the main players in my story.  It has also given me a better idea at who my key players are, and they are turning out to be deeper than I originally thought.

Image

Ready Set Novel – NaNoWriMo Store

 

I’m also getting some words written, since I haven’t done much since Camp NaNo.  Decided to go back and work on an unfinished chapter of my fanfic I’m writing.  It’s a fun way to play around with characters and world build without having to worry too seriously about it.  I still want it to be good, but I feel more relaxed when writing since I know it will never get published.  It’s similar to how I feel when just sketching random things in my sketch book, instead of when I’m working on a serious painting.

Hopefully this years NaNo will be more productive for me than the last.

What are you guys doing to prepare for NaNoWriMo?

About lvadams

I grew up in Central Florida for most of my life. I was one of those strange kids who liked to catch lizards and snakes, and brought everything home from stray kittens to baby chickens and ducks. I started writing around the age of 11 and never really stopped. I now have a Bachelor's of Science degree from Auburn University and hope to get a job working with animals. Until then I keep on writing. :)
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

