Brain Dumpi—oh look! A butterfly!

So a couple of years ago, I requested a mini-laptop for my birthday.  The idea was that it could handle microsoft office, the internet, and nothing else.

Which is essentally what I got. Even netflix cant run on it without a slow frame rate.

I love it though.  It’s the perfect tool for writing.  I don’t have all the clutter to distract me like my other laptop, and it’s a lot quieter and lighter as well.

There is one issues though.  My keyboard is smaller, so sometimes I have issues with hitting things like the caps-lock key in the middle of a sentence.

That happened to me tonight while trying to get in my daily word count for NaNo.  Amused by how the word I had typed looked in all caps, I continued on, writing a series of random sentences that had me dissolving into giggles.

Elwood TRIED. HE TRIED REALLY HARD TO WRITE A STORY. AND IT WAS HARD. ITS SO HARD BEING RICH AND ATTRACTIVE. SO EFFING HARD.

Was this a productive use of my time? Probably not.  But it was amusing, to me at least, and it also helped alleviate some tension.  That combined with finding out I passed my falconry exam is more than enough to take the weight off my shoulders.

I used to do writing exercises like that when I was younger. I’d take a writing prompt and just write and write and write, no matter how random or silly it got.  I think this is a good way to practice writing, as well as to relax and brain dump.  Sometimes focusing at the story on hand is easier when there isn’t so much noise built up inside.

How about you fellow readers? Do you ever write just to write, no matter what? Do you find that it relaxes you and helps you focus?  What are some other techniques you use to obtain a calm and sound mind while writing? If you do at all?

About lvadams

I grew up in Central Florida for most of my life. I was one of those strange kids who liked to catch lizards and snakes, and brought everything home from stray kittens to baby chickens and ducks. I started writing around the age of 11 and never really stopped. I now have a Bachelor's of Science degree from Auburn University and hope to get a job working with animals. Until then I keep on writing. :)
This entry was posted in Falconry, NaNoWriMo, Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

