Skyfire (Book Review)

So, I goofed.  A million and one years ago I asked Jess Owen for an early copy of her Skyfire book to review.

Actually it was more like one year ago.  But still.

She sent me a copy, and I read it, and I LOVED it.  But she asked reviews wait until the book came out.

So I waited….and then I forgot.

BECAUSE I AM A HORRIBLE PERSON.

Okay, enough with the drama. Because this post isn’t about me being a jerk.  It’s about an awesome book and an awesome author.

Skyfire

skyfirecover_small-682x1024

First, I want you to take a moment and just appreciate the awesomeness.

Are you appreciating?  Good.

The book definitely does its cover justice by being just as awesome.

Here’s a blurb from amazon:

Shard is a gryfon in exile from the pride of the Silver Isles. After learning of the injustices wrought by the Red King he once served loyally, Shard now seeks to fulfill the promise of the legendary Summer King, who is destined to bring peace and balance when he appears.

Shard’s quest will take him across the sea to the homeland of the gryfons who conquered the Silver Isles, into a web of new allies and new enemies, winged and wingless alike. There he will learn of the fierce enmity that drove the Red King and his pride from their homeland, and the deadly grudge stretching back two generations that, if left unfinished, could destroy them all.

Are you excited yet?  Really you should be.  And if you haven’t bought this book you should run out and do so RIGHT NOW.  Go.  I’ll wait.

Song of the Summer King was a fantastic tale that brought us a story from the eyes of a young gryfon Shard.  We learned about his life, and his destiny, and watched him choose between the things he had always known, and a new way of life.

In Skyfire we travel with Shard as his adventure continues, leading us to realize that the problem of Aesir in his homeland isn’t one that will be solved as easily as he initially thought.

Jess’ powerful and dynamic writing brings these characters to life, giving them a rich history.  She does for gryphons what Watership Down did for rabbits.  They’re familiar and yet foreign, and as a reader you find yourself falling in love with every character, even the ones you don’t like.

The plot thickens in this second installment and subplots abound as Shard has to deal with not only his destiny, but the fact that he is growing up.

Tension increases drastically as we’re given a deeper look into the aftermath Shard’s decisions from book one.  Instead of just following Shard on his new journey, Jess enriches our tale by following various gryfons back at his home flock, and how they deal with the rising complications of Shard’s rebellion.

The characters and plot are so well interwoven and written, I could not put this book down, even though I was out of town at a LARP that I was supposed to be paying attention to.  Once I had finished, I felt quite empty and actually moped for a bit

These books really are something special, and I know I will continue to read, love and share them for a very long time.

If you’re interested in checking out Skyfire, or any of Jess Owen’s other books, I’ve provided links to her webpage, amazon and her facebook pages.

http://www.amazon.com/Skyfire-Summer-King-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B00H5920IE/

http://jessowen.com/

https://www.facebook.com/authorjessowen

About lvadams

I grew up in Central Florida for most of my life. I was one of those strange kids who liked to catch lizards and snakes, and brought everything home from stray kittens to baby chickens and ducks. I started writing around the age of 11 and never really stopped. I now have a Bachelor's of Science degree from Auburn University and hope to get a job working with animals. Until then I keep on writing. :)
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

