The Red Wolf Coalition

Those of you steady readers that follow my blog may have noticed a new category in the drop down menu on the front page: Travel.

Seeing as I’ve had some amazing opportunities in my young life to go places and see cool things, I thought I’d share them with you.

This first official travel post will follow closely on the heels of my latest book review: The Secret World of Red Wolves.

I recently found myself in North Carolina for a short period of time, and was able to meet with Kim Wheeler, who works for the Red Wolf Coalition. Thanks to her I was able to meet a wonderful pair of captive red wolves, Hank and Betty.

DSC_0259 DSC_0262 DSC_0266 DSC_0270 DSC_0271 DSC_0277 DSC_0280 DSC_0284 DSC_0285 DSC_0289 DSC_0295 DSC_0296 DSC_0300 DSC_0303 DSC_0306 DSC_0307

Seeing these animals up close was a wonderful experience, and I encourage anyone who is interested in learning more about these amazing animals to join up and support both the Red Wolf Coalition and the Red Wolf Recovery program. You don’t have to give money*, though that’s always helpful. You can show your support simply by liking their facebook page and telling your friends about the red wolf, and its struggle to survive as a species.

Seeing as I already spent a previous post talking about the dangers the red wolf faces from all sides, I will simply take a moment to say that Ms. Wheeler was able to confirm all of this in person. The recovery program is in dire need of support to keep going.

This was a fantastic experience for me, and for what it’s worth, the red wolf program will have my support in whatever way I can give it.

*If you are interested in donating you can do so from their website, or take a look at their crowdrise fundraiser here: https://www.crowdrise.com/redwolfcoalition1

About lvadams

I grew up in Central Florida for most of my life. I was one of those strange kids who liked to catch lizards and snakes, and brought everything home from stray kittens to baby chickens and ducks. I started writing around the age of 11 and never really stopped. I now have a Bachelor's of Science degree from Auburn University and hope to get a job working with animals. Until then I keep on writing. :)
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

